Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Four Tet - Pause

Four Tet is the name used by Kieran Hebden (born 1977 in Putney, London, UK) for his experimental electronic music-oriented solo efforts, to differentiate from his work with post-rock band Fridge.

Hebden’s solo work typically utilises samples lifted from various sources including hip-hop, electronica, techno, jazz, and folk mixed with his own guitar playing. Four Tet shares some stylistic similarities with other musicians, such as Prefuse 73, who use computer editing techniques that give the music a staccato, cut-up feel. Hebden’s music is notable for its rich, organic sounds and harmonious melodies as well as for eschewing the traditional pop-song format in favour of a more abstract approach.

(Read more at Last.fm)

1. Glue of the World
2. Twenty-Three
3. Harmony One
4. Parks
5. Leila cam around and we watched a
6. Untangle
7. Everything is alright
8. No more Mosquitos
9. Tangle
10. You could ruin my Day
11. Hilarious Movie of the 90th

1 comment:

  1. If not a revolutionary record, Pause is clever enough to grab the attention of the listener and not let go. Four Tet is more than a side project for Kieran Hebden, as he continues to explore the realms of electronic music.