Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Pagan Altar - Discography

Pagan Altar is a band formed in 1978 in Brockley, England. Alongside Witchfinder General, they are one of the few “NWOBHM” bands to play doom metal. Although they were ignored by mainstream metal media during the early and mid 80s, their influence did not emerge until after the 80s incarnation had broken up.
Their gigs were characterized by moody, epic and heavy music interpreted with highly visual stage aspect which accented their interest for occult themes. Pagan Altar’s only release from that era was independent, self-released, self-titled album which was in later years often bootlegged. It was finally officially re-released on Oracle Records in 1998 and titled “Volume 1”.

In 2004, Pagan Altar reunited, re-recorded and released their previously unfinished second album, “Lords of Hypocrisy. These songs date back to the first 1980s incarnation. Also in 2004, “The Time Lord EP” was released, which contains recordings that date back to the band’s inception in 1978.

Their third album, “Mythical & Magical” was released in late 2006 and features a considerable amount of material that also date back prior to the 1982 release.



Regular Studio Albums

Pagan Altar - Volume 1 / Pagan Altar (1982)

1. Pagan Altar
2. In The Wake Of Armadeus
3. Judgement Of The Dead
4. The Black Mass
5. Night Rider
6. Acoustics
7. Reincarnation


Pagan Altar - The Time Lord EP (2004/1978)

1. Highway Cavalier
2. The Time Lord
3. Judgement Of The Dead
4. The Black Mass
5. Reincarnation


Pagan Altar - Lords of Hypocrisy (2004)

1. The Lords Of Hypocrisy
2. Satan's Henchmen
3. Sentinels Of Hate
4. Armageddon
5. The Interlude
6. The Aftermath
7. The Masquerade
8. The Devil Came Down To Brockley
9. March Of The Dead


Pagan Altar - Mythical & Magical (2006)

1. Intro
2. Samhein
3. The Cry of the Banshee
4. The Crowman
5. Daemoni na Hoiche
6. The Sorcerer
7. Flight of the Witch Queen
8. Dance of the Druids
9. The Erl King
10. The Witches Pathway
11. Sharnie
12. The Rising of the Dark Lord


1 comment:

  1. Hey! That was a great thing to upload. However the links are broken now. I've been trying to buy something from this band and I've to ask for it from far far away and it's quite expensive or I can 't have a copy from it. May you upload this again? Is there any chance? Thank you! I will try to get some albums of these guys someday, for sure.