Thursday, November 26, 2009

YOB - Discography

YOB was brought into being by vocalist / guitarist Mike Scheidt during the mid 90s. Previous to founding YOB, Scheidt had operated as a drummer with Hardcore acts chemikill and Dirty Sanchez and held down bass duties in H.C. MINDS. The original incarnation of YOB featured Scheidt alongside bassist Lowell Iles and drummer Greg Ocon. However, by the time of recording the 2001 album Elaborations of Carbon, YOB comprised Scheidt, bassist Isamu Satu, previously with death metal act Thrombus and former Lightweight drummer Gabe Morley. Satu also operates H.C. Minds whilst Morley divides his time with Fingertrap.

Hailing from the ever-gray skies of Eugene, OR, USA comes YOB, a band already well on their way to make their mark in the doom metal scene worldwide. Formed in 1996 by founding member Mike Scheidt, YOB started creating and destroying ideas that would become the foundation for one of doom metal’s most shining hopefuls.

The first three song self-titled demo was submitted to in 1999, sending shockwaves into the stoner rock/doom scene worldwide. This demo was a bold statement of intent: uncompromising heavy doom metal. Within YOB’s sound, which is equal parts Sleep, Burning Witch, Neurosis, High on Fire and Electric Wizard, YOB has accomplished song craft that is as much their own sound as it is paying homage to the doom metal greats of both times of yore and present.

In 2001 YOB recorded its first full-length record for 12th Records in Spokane, Washington titled Elaborations of Carbon. This offering received dozens of rave reviews from magazines and fans worldwide, securing YOB’s place as one of the best doom metal bands in the scene today. The Lollipop Magazine review of Elaborations of Carbon says, “Six mighty songs of beautiful doom-laden sound, full and expansive. Inverted, hanging riffs, Melvenoid spacey trudging, Tab-esque motion, and a deep well of compositional creativity…only a complete dupe would say this isn’t a good one”.

2002 saw YOB secure a recording contract with Lunasound/Abstract Sounds. Their first CD for this label, Catharsis, hit the streets worldwide November 4th, 2003. Featuring a stronger production and three songs clocking in at 50 minutes, those who have heard it proclaim it is the best YOB record yet.

(

Regular Studio Albums

 YOB - Demo (2009)

1. Silence
2. Revolution (Original Sick Version)
3. Dogma

YOB - The Great Cessation (2009)

1. Burning the Altar
2. The Lie that is Sin
3. Silence of Heaven
4. Breathing from the Shallows
5. The Great Cessation

YOB - The Unreal never lived (2005)

1. Quantum Mystic
2. Grasping Air
3. Kosmos
4. The Mental Tyrant

 YOB - The Illusion of Motion (2004)

1. Ball of molten Lead
2. Exorcism of the Host
3. Doom #2
4. The Illusion of Motion

YOB - Catharsis (2003)

1. Aeons
2. Ether
3. Catharsis

YOB - Elaborations of Carbon (2002)

1. Universe Throb
2. All the Children Forgotten
3. Clear Seeing
4. Revolution
5. Pain of I
6. Asleep in Samsara

1 comment: