Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Year of No Light - Live at Roadburn

Yet one more band started after too many Belgian beers under the sun of the ending summer of 2001, Year of No Light slightly but undoubtly started to slide down to gloomier atmospheres as the inherent chaos of Bordeaux’s caves and harshness of winter made their common work.

As the line-up solidified around the 5 actual mem
bers escaped from acts such as Metronome Charisma, Deja Mort and Nexus Sun, the band clarified their intentions and started to build the basis of what would be their first demo recorded in 2004. More and more shows were played with bands such as Isis, Cult of Luna, High on Fire or Unsane.

The rather general critical acclaim of the demo quoting them as being “The Cure playing sludge” combined with live reviews becoming more and more encouraging compelled the band into the writing of new tracks that finally ended up being recorded at Playrec studio under the direction of Serge Morratel in the fall of 2005. The debut “Nord” has been released in 2006.

Current line-up:

* Pierre Anouilh - guitar
* Jérôme Alban - guitar
* Julien Perez - vocals, keyboard
* Johan Sebenne - bass
* Bertrand Sebenne - drums

(Taken from

This thing here now is a vinyl rip from their set at the Roadburn Festival in Tilburg, including four songs (one is featured by Fear Falls Burning). Limited to 500 copies and released this summer. Enjoy!


1. Tu As Fait De Moi Un Homme Meilleur
2. Cimmeria
3. Metanoia & L'angoisse Du Veilleur De nuit D' autoroute
4. Les Mains De L'empereur & The Golden Horn of the Moon (with Fear Falls Burning)


No comments:

Post a Comment