Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Baroness - Red Album

Baroness plays an eclectic brand of heavy metal, embracing the ferocity and sharp technique of new-millennium metal but with melodic accents and intelligent guitar work that suggests the influence of sludge and post-punk bands.

The four members of Baroness — John Baizley on guitar and vocals, Pete Adams on guitar, Summer Welch on bass, and Allen Blickle on drums — are all originally from Lexington, VA, but they pulled up stakes and relocated to Savannah, GA, when they formed the band in mid-2003.

Baroness made their recording debut in 2005 with First, a three-song EP released through Savannah-based indie label Hyperrealist Records. A second EP from Baroness, simply called Second, appeared in stores later the same year. In 2006, Baroness teamed up with another offbeat but powerful band from Savannah, Unpersons, for a split EP entitled A Grey Sigh in a Flower Husk released through At a Loss Records.
In 2007, Baroness signed with the well-respected independent metal label Relapse Records, and in the fall of 2007 they issued their first full-length disc, The Red Album, followed by extensive touring. They have since also released the Blue Record.


Allen Blickle- drums
Summer Welch – bass
John Baizley – guitars, vocals
Pete Adams – guitars, vocals

(from Last.fm)

This is their first Full-Length output! A sludge masterpiece! Enjoy!

1. Rays On Pinion
2. The Birthing
3. Isak
4. Wailing Wintry Wind
5. Cockroach En Fleur
6. Wanderlust
7. Aleph
8. Teeth Of A Cogwheel
9. Grad
10. O’Appalachia
11. Untitled


No comments:

Post a Comment