Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Drudkh - Microcosmos

There's not much else I can say about this release. It might very well rank among their best. It's really breath taking at times, in ways they haven't been able to pull since Autumn Aurora. The melodies are considerably more intricate and experimental at times without getting really far from the classic Drudkh sound. Drums sound great, they're not as abrasive as they were on Estrangement, nor as opaque as they were on the older releases. There's a lot of variation and at the same time, the typical, almost hypnotic Drudkh sound is more than present throughout the whole release. This might be one of the best albums to have been released so far in 2009. Extremely recommended.

Originally written for the paper version of the Terror Cult Zine

1. Days that passed
2. Distant Cries of Cranes
3. Decadence
4. Ars Poetica
5. Everything unsaid before
6. Widow's Grief

No comments:

Post a Comment