Friday, April 16, 2010

Kayo Dot - Coyote

Kayo Dot is an avant-garde group originally from Boston, Massachusetts, United States (now based in Brooklyn, New York) that was formed in 2003 by Toby Driver after the disband of maudlin of the Well. They released their debut album Choirs of the Eye on John Zorn’s Tzadik label that year.

Members: Toby Driver, Mia Matsumiya, David bodie, Dan Means & Terran Olson.

The music of Kayo Dot can not be accurately described by the limiting contemporary genre nomenclatures. Their songs involve complex instrumentation (composed by singer and frontman Driver), generally without refrain. They are substantially longer than typical rock songs, often ranging from 8 to 15 minutes in length.

Kayo Dot’s second album Dowsing Anemone With Copper Tongue was released in January of 2006.

On May 6 2008, they released their third full-length, Blue Lambency Downward, on Hydra Head Records.

Their new album, recorded in June 2009, named ‘Coyote’, is set to be released on 20 April 2010 on Hydra Head Records.

(Taken from

Drop it while it's hot. Friday!

[Hydra Head / 2010 / Avant-Garde / CBR@320 ]

1. Calonyction Girl (07:59)
2. Whisper Ineffable (11:13)
3. Abyss Hinge 1: Sleeping Birds Sighing in Roscolux (03:45)
4. Abyss Hinge 2: The Shrinking Armature (13:40)
5. Cartogram Out of Phase (03:11)

1 comment: