Wednesday, April 7, 2010

The Ocean - Heliocentric

The Ocean Collective (usually referred to as “The Ocean”) is an experimental rock band from Berlin, Germany. Their work combines elements of modern hardcore and technical metal with classical music and electronic soundscapes. The band often describes its sound as “ambient soundtrack doomrock”.

The Ocean was founded in 2000 by guitarist and songwriter Robin Staps. During the following two years, about 40 musicians joined and left the band until a stable line-up was established. July 2002 saw The Ocean play their first concert at Berlin’s now defunct semi-legal Eimer Club. Shortly after, the band released their eponymous debut album featuring “Islands/Tides,” a 30-minute-long song that also constituted the substance of their early live shows.

(
Their new record leaked, get it while it's hot!

[ Pelagic Records | 2010 | Atmospheric Sludge | 192kbps | 50:42 ]

1. Shamayim - 1:53
2. Firmament - 7:29
3. The First Commandment of the Luminaries - 6:47
4. Ptolemy Was Wrong - 6:28
5. Metaphysics of the Hangman - 5:41
6. Catharsis of A Heretic - 2:08
7. Swallowed By the Earth - 4:59
8. Epiphany - 3:21
9. The Origin of Species - 7:23
10. The Origin of God - 4:33


Track 10 (if missing)


  1. some people may not like the direction these guys are headed, with more clean vocals, and guitar parts.
    This is going to be in the running for album of the year for me, for sure...thanks

  2. Solid, not spectacular. One more post-whatever band to throw on the pile. Thanks for the chance to check this out.