Sunday, April 25, 2010

Zero Kama - The Secret Eye Of L.A.Y.L.A.H

Zero Kama has long been a fashionable name to drop in ritual ambient circles. The project was founded in 1983 by musician Michael DeWitt, and at the time, contemporaries of Zero Kama who were also engaged in the creation of post-industrial music with a heavy occult influence included the British groups Psychic TV, Current 93 and Coil, and the Italians Ain Soph. Unlike all these other bands, however, Zero Kama’s manifestation on the material plane was brief and fleeting. The band ceased to exist in 1986, having released only one album, The Secret Eye Of L.A.Y.L.A.H., which appeared on cassette on Michael DeWitt’s own Nekrophile Records label, as well as a handful of cassette compilation appearances. This obscurity has only added to Zero Kama’s cult reputation – after all, anyone who’s sufficiently interested has long been able to discover what early Current 93 or Psychic TV sounds like, whereas Zero Kama recordings have been distinctly more elusive. The Secret Eye Of L.A.Y.L.A.H. was given a CD release in 1991 on French label Permis De Construire , but that has long since been deleted, and French label Athanor collected Zero Kama’s compilation appearances under the title of The Goatherd And The Beast for a limited edition vinyl release in 2001.

[ Nekrophile Records / 1986 / Ritual-Ambient / VBR ]

01. Death Posture (03:14)
02. Atavism Dream (03:55)
03. Night of Matter (03:23)
04.  Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome. (03:57)
05. Love Always Yiedeth (04:05)
06. Azure-lidded Woman (Pregnant Womb of Non) (03:52)
07. Hassan I Sabbah (04:05)
08. Starlit Mire (03:56)
09. Winged Eye Hadit (05:14)
10. Love Always Hadeneth (04:00)
11. Town of Pyramids (Night of Pan) (03:28)

No comments:

Post a Comment