Monday, April 19, 2010

Thorr's Hammer - Dommedagsnatt

Thorr’s Hammer is an American/Norwegian Doom Metal band formed in Ballard, Washington by Greg Anderson and Stephen O’Malley during winter 1994-1995. Soon after Runhild Gammelsæter, then 17-year-old Norwegian exchange student, joined the band as vocalist/lyricist. The band reached its final form when Jamie Sykes and James Hale joined. The band was active only for six weeks during which it played two gigs and recorded a demo and an EP entitled Dommedagsnatt. The band disbanded after Runhild’s return to Oslo, Norway.

Burning Witch was formed from the ashes of Thorr’s Hammer and Runhild has currently teamed up with James Plotkin from Khanate to form Khlyst. In 2009 the band reunited, and had a couple of gigs in the US and UK.

(taken from

After seeing them live last Friday, I felt like sharing this EP. Yes, Runhild can still pull the growls off, I sure hope they'll release the new stuff they've written asap.

[ Southern Lord | 1998 | Death Doom | VBR | 32:21 ]

1. Norge - 7:38
2. Troll - 4:26
3. Dommedagsnatt - 8:08
4. Mellom Galgene (live) - 12:12



  1. "I sure hope they'll release the new stuff they've written asap."
    whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat thats awesome i had no idea they had new songs

  2. Hi there !

    SURTR has just added a new song after 1000 plays of the part I of our "World of doom" concept. It has been recorded at the same time of our first demo. Check that online :


    " If great riffs is whats needed for a quality doom metal then this track comes pretty close. Nothing original musically but a fine dose of doom writing just the same, they follow the blueprint of doom metal to the letter here but it is done with integrity and some passion to make a track that demands repeated spins. "
    8/10, DoomMantia

  3. @first comment: They played at least one new song at Roadburn. I didn't exactly pay much attention to the songs, though, I was in trance from the performance. And high. Yeah.

  4. I need newwwww stuff! Or at least a live recording of their shows? Please? Anyone? Augh!