Sunday, April 18, 2010

Urfaust & Circle Of Ouroborus - Auerauege Raa Verduistering

Urfaust is a band from the Netherlands. They play avant-garde black metal utilizing dark, nearly operatic clean vocals with a germanic folk touch, and dark ambient elements (especially on “Verräterischer, Nichtswürdiger Geist”). Currently the band has released two full-length albums: “Geist ist Teufel” and “Verräterischer, Nichtswürdiger Geist”, as well as two split EPs: “Auerauge Raa Verduistering” with Circle of Ouroborus from Finland, and a self-titled split with The Ruins of Beverast. In July 2008 Urfaust released their EP “Drei Rituale Jenseits des Kosmos” on Debemur Morti Productions. The split 7” with Joyless (Nor) was released by Ván Records from Germany, as well as their mini album “Einsiedler”.

(Taken from here)
Circle of Ouroborus is an experimental black metal band from Finland, formed by Antti Klemi and Rauta in 2004. The band’s sound is characterized by lo-fi production, unusual use of clean vocals and sometimes entirely acoustic releases that have very little in common with black metal. Sadness and nature themes seem to be prevalent in their music. While particular influences on their work seem unclear there seems to be an obvious influence of Joy Division, as they covered this band’s classic “She’s Lost Control” on their debut album. They’ve released numerous demos and three full-length albums, as well as splits with Urfaust and Nuit Noire.

The Ouroboros is an ancient symbol that depicts a serpent swallowing its own tail and forming a circle. It has been used to represent many things, but it most generally symbolizes the ideas of cyclic existence or infinity.

(Taken from here)

After putting on their newest split I thought about adding the one I discovered them. Urfaust is missing on the blog, too so this just fits in perfectly! Enjoy!

[ Ahdistuksen Aihio Productions / 2006 / Black Metal / VBR ]

1. Verächtung Wird Einen Messertragenden Schatten 2:42
2. Der Halbtoten Dichters Schein-Existenz 5:13
3. Zur Winter-Wanderschaft Verflucht 6:44
4. Dämmert, Gelähmt und Mit Scheinbar Erloschenem Geist 10:32
Circle of Ouroborus:
5. Dream of Death 4:33
6. Mouldering Leaves 3:53
7. Dimicatio 3:11
8. Eyes of the Flames 3:00
9. Congregation of Sorrow 4:09
10. In the Forest of the Horned God 2:57

No comments:

Post a Comment