Thursday, February 11, 2010

Death From Above 1979 - You're a Woman I'm a Machine

Death from Above 1979 were the Toronto-based duo of Jesse F. Keeler on bass/synths and Sebastien Grainger on vocals/drums. Refusing to employ a lead guitarist, they played loud synth infused noise-funk, often referred to as dance punk, on the drum and bass combination alone. Originally named just “Death From Above”, the duo changed their name after a legal dispute with New York City dance-punk label Death From Above (known as DFA Records since the September 11, 2001 attacks). “Death from above” was written on a helicopter in the movie Apocalypse Now, which was copyrighted in 1979. However, Grainger says this is simply a coincidence; 1979 was chosen as it was, amongst other reasons, “the year I was born.”

(

Some of you guys might be wondering why this album found it way to this blog. It's not doom, not sludge, not some underground-indie stuff. Yeah this album is a top seller from 2004, but indeed a real indie-diamond. I had this in my mail two days before I went to Sicily for three weeks in summer. And this record was spinning all the three weeks, every day. My summer soundtrack. Indie-Rock mixed with some punk and loads of catchy electro elements. Take a peek at the cover, download the album and play it loud.

1. Turn it out
2. Romantic Rights
3. Going Steady
4. Go Home, get down
5. Blood on our Hands
6. Black History Month
7. Little Girl
8. Cold War
9. You're a Woman, I'm a Machine
10. Pull Out
11. Sexy Results

No comments:

Post a Comment