Monday, February 8, 2010

Black Tambourine - Complete Recordings

Black Tambourine were one of the earliest Slumberland groups, consisting of members of Whorl and Velocity Girl, plus their pal Pam Berry on vocals. Conceived as an explicitly pop band at a time when pop bands were pretty rare in America, Black Tambourine wore their influences on their sleeves: The Jesus & Mary Chain, of course, but also folks like Phil Spector, Smokey Robinson, Love, The Ramones, Shop Assistants, The Pastels, 14 Iced bears, Orange Juice and the list goes on.

Though they only played a handful of gigs in their brief career, their two singles on Slumberland and Audrey’s Diary wielded a large influence, and were key artifacts in the birth of US indie pop. This compilation includes all the songs from both of those singles, plus two cuts from compilations and a previously unheard demo song. Liner notes from Jennifer Silver of Swingset Records round-out this important record - check it out!

(Taken from

1. For Ex-Lovers Only
2. Black Car
3. Pack You Up
4. Can't Explain
5. I Was Wrong (Previously Unreleased)
6. Throw Aggi Off The Bridge
7. Drown
8. We Can't Be Friends
9. By Tomorrow
10. Pam's Tan

Mediafire | Rghost

No comments:

Post a Comment