Monday, May 24, 2010

Omega Massif - Geisterstadt

Omega Massif is an instrumental post-metal band from Würzburg, Germany and were formed in 2005 by Andreas Schmittfull (guitar), Michael Melchers (guitar), Boris Bilic (bass) and Christof Rath (drums). They recorded their demo “Kalt” in 2005 and began playing shows with bands like Knut, Taint and Tephra among others.

In 2007, Omega Massif released their first full-length album “Geisterstadt” (which means “Ghost Town” in German). The album weaves a tale of ancient abandoned silver mines, treks through deep mountain tunnels, and forsaken boom towns illustrated through Omega Massif’s massive instrumental post-metal. The vocaless nature of the music turns the focus on pure atmosphere, and Omega Massif deliver, layering the pulverizing repetitive metalchug with a sense of gloom and longing that becomes near-suffocating at times, but there are also lots of gorgeous ethereal melodies throughout.

(Taken from

You all know it, you all love it (i hope so!) Here it is, Geisterstadt from Omega Massif to those who don't have it.

Omega Massif - Geisterstadt

(Radar Swarm / 2007 / Instrumental Sludge/Post-Rock / 320kbp/s)

01. In der Mine 8:39
02. Geisterstadt 2:26
03. Nebelwand 10:10
04. Unter Null 8:00
05. Arcanum 9:09
06. Exodus 5:37


  1. please that the thrid track doesn't loose it minds at 8:44 like all downloads i've made of this, there is no way i can purchase this album where i live

  2. I added this track on rghost now. It works fine for me, maybe it's because of Mediafire that the song is broken.

  3. Okay, it's really broken. I will Upload it again.

  4. hi

    all downloads i've made of this (soulseek) has the same "cd jump" at 8:44 on track 3, it's not mediafire.

    thaks for all your uploads by the way.

  5. That's because the guy who ripped the version that keeps on floating on the need messed it up for some seconds on this track. Sad but true.