Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Atheist - Unquestionable Presence

Atheist is a progressive death metal band from Sarasota, Florida, USA and regarded as one of the main developers of Floridian death metal. Their music is highly technical and sometimes reminiscent of jazz, combining brutal riffs with subtle latin music arrangements. They were founded in 1984 under the name Oblivion by guitarist (and later vocalist) Kelly Shaefer and drummer Mark. Mark was later replaced by drummer Steve Flynn because Kelly and Steve had similar musical tastes. Roger Patterson would later join as their bassist.

They released a couple of demos, Hell Hath No Mercy in 1987 and Beyond in 1988. They recorded their debut album, Piece of Time, in 1988 and it was to be released on the label Mean Machine, but the record label later went bankrupt. Piece of Time thus not released until 1990 on Active. In 1989, another demo was released. In 1991, bassist Roger Patterson died in a car accident and Atheist recruited Tony Choy to record their second album, the now classic Unquestionable Presence. Atheist disbanded for the first time in 1992, reuniting in 1993 and recording their last album Elements before disbanding for the second time.

(taken from

[ Death Records | 1991 | Progressive Death Metal | VBR | 32:25 ]

1. Mother Man - 4:33
2. Unquestionable Presence - 4:06
3. Retribution - 3:17
4. Enthralled In Essence - 3:37
5. An Incarnations Dream - 4:52
6. The Formative Years - 3:30
7. Brains - 3:41
8. And The Psychic Saw - 4:49



  1. O HELL YES. Thank you! Haven't heard these guys in FOREVER!!! \m/

  2. Thanks for the link. Great album!!
    Cheers from Brazil