Friday, March 12, 2010

Devin Townsend Project - Ki

Devin Townsend Project begins where Ziltoid the Omniscient left off, with Devin Townsend at the helm. The project is a planned four-album series. Rather than a specific line-up of musicians, as he utilized in The Devin Townsend Band, and rather than performing the entirety of the music himself, as in Ziltoid the Omniscient, the Devin Townsend Project will feature a number of different musicians for each album.

The first release, Ki, is set to be available for purchase by late May and early June 2009. For Ki, Townsend recruited veteran jazz drummer Duris Maxwell, local bassist Jean Savoie, and the former keyboardist for The Devin Townsend Band, Dave Young. Devin has also recruited Ché Dorval as an additional vocalist.

The second release is titled Addicted. Planned to be a heavy, simplistic, and straightforward rock album, it serves as the bridge from the quieter Ki to the expected zany metal tones of the album following it. The line-up thus far confirmed is Ryan Van Poederooyen (also a veteran of The Devin Townsend Band) on the drums, another member of the DTB Brian Waddell on the bass, and Anneke van Giersbergen (notable from The Gathering, Agua de Annique and Ayreon) on an unspecified amount of vocals.

The third and fourth albums are called Deconstruction and Ghost, with further concrete details forthcoming.

(more on


(HevyDevy Records / 2008 / Ambient/Progressive Metal/Rock / 320kbp/s)

1. A Monday 1:43
2. Coast 4:36
3. Disruptr 5:49
4. Gato 5:23
5. Terminal 6:58
6. Heaven Send 8:54
7. Ain't Never Gonna Win 3:17
8. Winter 4:48
9. Trainfire 5:59
10. Lady Helen 6:05
11. Ki 7:21
12. Quiet Riot 3:02
13. Demon League 2:55


No comments:

Post a Comment