Thursday, March 25, 2010

Roky Erickson with Okkervil River - True Love Cast Out All Evil

Roky Erickson (born Roger Kynard Erickson on July 15, 1947) is an American singer, songwriter, harmonica player and guitarist from Austin, Texas. He was a founding member of the 13th Floor Elevators, who are considered to be the first band to ever use the word “” to describe rock music.

Okkervil River began as a mutual project of Will Sheff (vocals, guitar), and Seth Warren (guitar). They met and collaborated together when both were still in high school in Meriden, NH. After relocating to Austin, TX in the late 90’s, the duo decided to re-assemble the band with the addition of Zachary Thomas (vocals, bass), Jonathan Meiburg (vocals, banjo), and drummer Travis Nelsen. In 1998, the group self-released their first disc, the “Bedroom” (EP), followed a year later with their debut album “Stars Too Small to Use”. During the succeeding years, the band regularly played live on numerous occasions, including an appearance at the South by Southwest festival in 2000.

(more on

(Anti Records / 2010 / Indie/Folk/Psychedelic / 261kbp/s)

01. Devotional Number One 2:17
02. Ain't Blues Too Sad 1:23
03. Goodbye Sweet Dreams 4:26
04. Be and Bring Me Home 5:36
05. Bring Back The Past 2:02
06. Please Judge 4:26
07. John Lawman 3:56
08. True Love Cast Out All Evil 4:30
09. Forever 3:58
10. Think Of As One 5:21
11. Birds'd Crash 3:59
12. God Is Everywhere 2:41

Taken down by request

1 comment: