Sunday, March 7, 2010

The Jesus Lizard - Goat

The Jesus Lizard is a noise rock music group formed in 1989 in Chicago, Illinois. The band took their name from a common nickname for the basilisk, a type of lizard that can run on water. The members of the band were/are: Duane Denison (guitars), David Yow (vocals), Daivd Wm. Sims (bass) and Mac McNeilly (drums). The Jesus Lizard reformed in 2008, playing a number of shows the next year with their classic line-up. These shows included appearances at the Pitchfork Music Festival in Chicago, and All Tomorrow’s Parties music festivals in England and New York.

While never finding much mainstream success, The Jesus Lizard have been called “a leading noise rock band in the American independent underground … (who) turned out a series of independent records filled with scathing, disembowelling, guitar-driven pseudo-industrial noise, all of which received positive reviews in underground music publications and heavy college-radio play.”

(Taken from

1. Then Comes Dudley
2. Mouth Breather
3. Nub
4. Seasick
5. Monkey Trick
6. Karpis
7. South Mouth
8. Lady Shoes
9. Rodeo In Joliet
10. Untitled
11. Sunday You Need Love
12. Pop Song
13. Seasick (live)
14. Lady Shoes (live)
15. Monkey Trick (live)


1 comment: