Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Faust - Faust IV

Faust is a German krautrock band, originally composed of Werner “Zappi” Diermaier, Hans Joachim Irmler, Arnulf Meifert, Jean-Hervé Péron, Rudolf Sosna and Gunter Wüsthoff, working with producer Uwe Nettelbeck and engineer Kurt Graupner. The group formed in Wümme in 1971 and soon began recording their debut, "Faust”, which sold poorly, but established a devoted fanbase. With a series of early 1970s releases, Faust became one of the most significant bands in the genre that would eventually be known as krautrock.

Faust were arguably the most radical of the groups of their era, using advanced studio techniques and electronics in a way that opened up new possibilities for studio composition. At the time they may not have appeared to have had the same impact as a number of their German peers (notably Kraftwerk, Can and Tangerine Dream), but they are increasingly recognised as the most far-sighted of the German groups of
that era.

(Taken from

This album is an essential for every 70s psychedelic/progressive rock and especially krautrock fan or any fan of any band influenced by these movements (so basically everybody visiting this blog). Listen to this! There's nothing more to say.

1. Krautrock
2. Sad Skinhead
3. Jennifer
4. Just A Second (Starts Like That!)
5. Picnic On A Frozen River, Deuxième Tableux
6. Giggy Smile
7. Läuft...Heißt das es läuft oder es kommt bald...Läuft
8. It's A Bit Of A Pain

| Rghost

1 comment:

  1. Faust also collaborated with New Jersey avant-garde hip-hop crew Dälek for the album Derbe Respect, Alder with surprising success in 2004.