Sunday, July 11, 2010

Ufomammut - Idolum

Inspired as much by the space-tinged acid rock of Kyuss and Monster Magnet as by progressive rock icons like Pink Floyd, Blue Cheer and early Black Sabbath, Tortona, Italy’s UFOmammut was formed in 1999 by Urlo (bass/vocals), Poia (guitar/keyboards), Vita (drums) and Alien (synths).

Their fourth album was released in 2008 and is called "Idolum". It was recorded in Milan at the Magnolia Studio. Lento’s Lorenzo Stecconi was the sound engineer for this album. The album has received acclaim all across the world.

Ufomammut’s live show is supported by the internationally acclaimed video and graphic art of Malleus, a rock artists’ collective who conjure the entirety of Ufommamut’s visual impact.

(Taken from

Did Ufomammut absolutely fuck with my mind last night? Yes, they did. They delivered one of the best audio-visual performances I ever had the honor to experience, probably second only to Ulver. Ranging from superheavy riffage with added psychedelia to post-rock-ish arrangements, this album (and every other Ufomammut release, really) is a must-have for every music enthusiast.
If you haven't already, also get their latest release "Eve" here.

[ Supernatural Cat | 2008 | Psychedelic Stoner Doom | 192kbps | 1:06:00 ]

1. Stigma - 7:12
2. Stardog - 5:41
3. Hellectric - 6:01
4. Ammonia - 7:10
5. Nero - 8:33
6. Destroyer - 4:03
7. Void / Elephantom - 27:20



  1. this one is fuckin heavy.... REAL HEAVY

  2. Diggin' this blog with a big heavy wooden spoon. Keep it comin' and thanx for the killer tracks yo...