Sunday, July 18, 2010

Dinosaur Jr. - Farm

Dinosaur Jr. formed as Dinosaur in 1983 in Amherst, Massachusetts by J Mascis (guitar and vocals) and his high school classmate Lou Barlow (bass guitar), following the break-up of their hardcore punk band Deep Wound. Shortly afterwards, Murph (Emmett Patrick Murphy, drums) joined them.

The band changed its name following the release of its debut album Dinosaur in 1985, after a band called Dinosaurs, featuring ex-members of Country Joe and the Fish and Jefferson Airplane, threatened them with legal action. (They still used the name Dinosaur on their albums until 1987 at the latest, and some copies of You’re Living All Over Me still lack the “Jr”).

Despite no gaining much commercial success, the band has enjoyed something of a cult following. The success of singles Freak Scene and Just Like Heaven singles, and recommendations from the likes of Sonic Youth saw them signed by Warner Brothers. The signature Dinosaur Jr. sound is the melodic tunes saturated in layers of guitar noise and punctuated by J Mascis’ elaborate, yet laconic guitar solos. They were a major influence on the up-and-coming band Nirvana.

(taken from
My favorite Dinosaur Jr. album and my secret favorite release of 2009. Maybe it's the approx. 1.3 million great riffs on this record or the vocals or the lyrics or how everything fits together, but I can return to this album as often as I want to and it will always sound and feel great.

[ Jagjaguwar | 2009 | Alternative Rock | 320kbps | 1:00:40 ]

1. Pieces - 4:32
2. I Want You To Know - 4:30
3. Ocean In The Way - 4:20
4. Plans - 6:42
5. Your Weather - 3:06
6. Over It - 3:47
7. Friends - 4:32
8. Said The People - 7:41
9. There's No Here - 3:39
10. See You - 5:47
11. I Don't Wanna Go There - 8:43
12. Imagination Blind - 3:21