Saturday, July 31, 2010

Minilogue - Animals

Minilogue are a Swedish Progressive House/Tech-House/Minimal Techno music project of Sebastian Mullaert and Marcus Henriksson. The name is a portmanteau of minimal (the musical style) and dialogue, which refers to music as a form of communication.

Beside their music production as Minilogue, they are both involved in the projects Son Kite and Trimatic, and Sebastian has the soloprojects Kooler, Filur and Ooze.

Sebastian Mullaert and Marcus Henriksson came from opposing backgrounds.

Sebastian was trained as a classical musician playing the organ, piano and the violin among other instruments. He even became involved in teaching them until his coming of age at 18 when he formed a band and began experimenting with the sounds in a more contemporary way.

Marcus lived on a diet of Kraftwerk and the Human League until realising his true calling in the techno parties of the 90s. Through promoting parties he moved on to become one of the bigger DJs in Southern Sweden. It was in a party where they met and decided to combine Sebastian’s musician’s perspective and knowledge with Marcus´ DJ skills and experience from the scene.

They got together in 1996 and after 10 years in the music business under successful guises such as Son Kite and Trimatic, Marcus & Sebastian are now Minilogue - an animalistic music concept without the boundaries of genres.

I stumbled over this one at a minimal party here. This album was visualized by Minilogue and they called it "Animals - The Movie". So if you like the album, buy the DVD and then you can watch the visualizations. It's worth it, they're really great. Some samples to be seen on youtube, vimeo etc.. Enjoy it!

Minilogue - Animals

(Cocoon Recordings / 2008 / Minimal/Techhouse/Ambient / 184 kbp/s)


Dance CD:
01. Yesterday Bells 2:01
02. Cow, Crickets and Clay 7:09
03. Hitchhiker´s Choice 7:20
04. Loud 3:37
05. We All 6:56
06. 33000 Honeybees 8:36
07. Jamaica 9:58
08. View Of A Juggling Ball 3:10
09. Giant Hairy Super Monsters 7:19
10. Hypnotized 8:31
11. Animals 7:15
12. In A Distance 7:49

Ambient CD:
01. Old Water 5:23
02. Windows 4:08
03. City Lights 4:58
04. Six Arms And One Leg 5:54
05. Swamp OP 4:28
06. In The Shade Of The Sun 5:47
07. Stations I 4:26
08. Stations II 4:59
09. Stations III 3:51
10. Even The Wind Seemed In Deep Sleep 6:22
11. Europhonia 8:09
12. Feeling In Spring Beside The Dressing Table 7:42
13. Seconds (Colour & Sound) 6:44
14. Outro 2:15

Mediafire 1/2