Friday, August 6, 2010

Gnaw - This Face

Gnaw is an experimental / band from New York City, New York, United States formed in 2006 by Alan Dubin.

Gnaw is the sawblade-wrapped-in-razorwire brainchild of Alan Dubin. (Khanate, OLD), Carter Thornton. (Enos Slaughter), Jun Mizumachi. (Ike Yard), and Jamie Sykes. (Thorr’s Hammer, Burning Witch). Their 2009 debut for Conspiracy Records “This Face” was further infected and finally delivered by engineer Brian Beatrice before being wrought for stage deployment with additional drummer Eric Neuser. “This Face” has been described as a “genre destroying journey” and utilizes pounding percussion, factory noise, chordal slabs of guitar and bass, as well as homemade electro-acoustic contraptions. Dubin’s unique and legendary shriek delivers vivid portrayals of all things bad.

This is some great droning noise with members of Khanate and Thorr's Hammer. They're on tour this year and I'm really looking forward to see them together with Monno. Enjoy it!

Gnaw - This Face

(Conspiracy Records / 2009 / Experimental Drone/Noise / 192 kbp/s)

1. Haven Vault 2:17
2. Vacant 4:26
3. Talking Mirrors 5:04
4. Feelers 3:46
5. Watcher 7:35
6. Ghosted 7:22
7. Backyard Frontier 4:52
8. Shard 5:13
9. Backyard Frontier (Reprise) 8:47


Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Yoga - Megafauna

A psychedelic lo-fi black-metal project that has a passion for Cryptozoology and all things unexplained… “Understand this: Yoga dispenses a sinister frailty of howling swells in hissing static that combusts into crawling shock heaps, to the effect of Mayhem performing Twin Peaks incidentals in a prairie recorded by The KLF. A brief description casts them as black metal’s answer to Throbbing Gristle. The texture-based rendering of their compositions sails them on a strange sea between song and sound effect as it bobs along the waves like a dead man’s bottled message. Aspects of Goblin rehearsals in dead hills is interrupted as Monster Zero carves mountain sides with lightning breath. Oscillating leads pummel into churning riffs as if Caledonia was performed in an echo chamber near Lodi, New Jersey. The extrinsic properties of this work may result in disambiguation.”

project members: Vatten Häst & Eld Anka

(Taken from

[ Myspace | Holy Mountain | Ritual Ambient/Drone | CBR@320 ]

1. Seventh Mind
2. Flying Witch
3. Encante
4. Wagion
5. The Hidden People
6. Dreamcast
7. Fourth Eye
8. Black Obelisk
9. Treeman
10. Warrior
11. Haunted Brain
12. Chupacabra's Rotting Flesh 

Locrian - Territories

“…ritual exploration locked in a landscape of left-handed black urbanity…. the sound of jackals seeking prey in abandoned malls. Locrian’s vision is an internalised one, a view that’s expressed through ferocious volume with a finger than remains on the trigger guard.” (Scott McKeating, Rock-a-rolla)

“Looming monoliths of distorted synthesizer erode in slow motion while a brittle, hazy guitar line wavers slowly back and forth like a rusty weathervane creaking in the wind. And then: the voices. Disembodied howls rising from the devil’s asshole.” (J. Niimi, Chicago Reader)

“Like a raven perched on an electrical transformer, Locrian summon elemental human dread, the type hinted at in medieval passion plays and Shakespearean dramatic interludes, but do so electrically, without the pretense of ancient wisdom or nostalgia-laden “spectral folk.” (Chris Sienko, Gapers Block)

” spoon through the night mounted upon a guitar or a synth… the sonic textures are closer to rock (maybe born amidst the debris of a party Killing Joke had just left).” (Byron Coley, The Wire)

(Taken from

Thanks to the band for submitting us this album, we realy appreciate this :) New record from 2010, enjoy!

[ Myspace | At War with False Noise | 2010 | Drone/Noise/Experimental | CBR@192 ]

01. Inverted Ruins (08:27)
02. Between Barrows (05:51)
03. Procession of Ancestral Brutalism (10:18)
04. Ring Road (09:38)
05. Antediluvian Territory (03:57)
06. The Columnless Arcade (08:42)